I need to pass this along.

For the record, I really like Kevin Drum, and I like Matt Yglesias a lot, too. Both smart, sensible people.

The bottom line, though, is that HTML Mencken is better and smarter than either. Which is why he’ll never get a job with a major publication. God bless our beloved meritocracy.

Oh, and Peter B. is such an obvious status-pole-climber I’ve always thought he was a dick. So there.

One more thing: Early nominee for comment of the year, and it disturbs me that the voting is always weighted towards the end-of-year gems, because this one should stand tall and long:

Shit, if the Senate had magically gone 100-0 Democratic in the last election, Reid would build a totem Republican out of papier-mache and feces just so he could ritually cave to it.”

BIG kudos to Xecklothxayyquou Gilchrist for that one.

