Can anyone tell me if a foreign power has EVER, and I mean EVER won a war there, permanently, and by permanently I mean say, for a 100 years?

My elemental read of history is that the answer is “no.”

So here’s a bold prediction and equally bold piece of advice: We can’t deal with that culture, because the Afghani culture is not in any way related to ours, and they’re a provincial, tribal, war-embracing people. Not big on the whole centralized government thing. The war in Afghanistan is not winnable. The advice, in a nutshell, is to not pretend the war there is winnable.

The advice? Get. The. Fuck. Outta. There. After we get the big shots, most notably the Al Queda leadership. Based on my (repeating now) limited knowledge of the culture, it shouldn’t be all that hard to get someone to rat these non-Afghani folks out.

But I’m no foreign policy expert.

