I think we’ve reached the point where even a big external event won’t matter.

Time to count some votes.

Early turnout is interesting. Everything I see and read is split along party lines, which to me leaves out an interesting element: How many Republicans voted for Obama? I’m going to go out on a limb and say that there will be more Republicans voting for Obama than then there will be Democratic votes for McCain.

And I would like to give a personal shout-out to John McCain’s choice of Sarah Palin should that turn out to be true.

Lord knows there sure have been a lot of prominent and not prominent Republicans jumping ship.

I still smell the faint whiff of complete humiliation for the GOP. Serious times call for serious voters, and I think their numbers will overwhelm the lessoff* voters.

*Great new word. Kudos to the inventively funny and always intelligent Sadly, No!

