Too many smart people out there typing directly from my head, and doing it so much better than I could for me to bother.

Jesse Taylor on McCain’s most recent whine, which is frightening in its complete lack of coherence, and respect for the intelligence of the American public.

I understand the modern version of the GOP is based almost entirely on pandering to teh stoopid, but you’d think they would crank it up a notch or two given the global environment we’re all freaking out in.

Heywood J. on…well, modern life in the good ol’ US of A.

It’s about a lot of things, of course, but it reinforced something in me that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. I don’t need much to enjoy myself, have a world-class body of friends and family, and am going to be all right no matter what. I was raised with little, have achieved financial mediocrity while living within my means, and I can go back.

Thoreau with some advice for St. John with which I happen to agree about how McCain could still pull this thing out, or, at the very least, allow McCain to retain whatever shreds of decency he has left in him. Sure, it would require an almost heroic flip-flop on the McCain campaign’s part, so is just as surely yet another game of Fantasy Politics going on in my head.

But things are going to need to cool down, and right now, McCain is the only one who can do it.

The lunatics are out and about, and I’m old enough to have seen this movie before.

Update. Yes. Precisely. Hat tip to John Cole on this last one.

