Actual e-mail exchange with GOP-leaning old pal at work, who knows I hate her and wouldn’t vote for her and McCain with a gun held to my head. “Pull the trigger,” I’d say.

I’ll turn it upside down for easier reading:

Him to me.

Subject:

All I could think of last night is “I wonder what kind of underwear she is wearing?”

My reply:

Subject: RE:

Me, too. The voice got a little too Fargo for me, but she’s one fine lookin’ woman from a brunette-guy’s perspective.

I was also pleasantly distracted by my desire to gently brush the hair away from her eyes, and as often as she winked at me, it was impossible to conclude anything other than “she wants me.”

Him to me.

Subject: RE:

LOL. On further review, I suspect she wasn’t wearing any underwear for you!

Hard to believe that I would flip off a Cub’s game to watch a VP debate, but I did. I hate the Cubs.

My reply:

Subject: RE:

Yeah, no kidding. Way to protect the home field. It isn’t like they can’t win 3 in a row, but I’m not going to even pay attention until Game 5. Too depressing. And knowing them, they’ll GET to Game 5, and THEN lose it, which will just p*ss me off doubly.

I think she had some sort of leg hose-ish covering on. They had a couple of camera angles from in back, and trust me, I was HD-looking.

I suppose they could’ve just been part of a nice garter-set…

All in fun, of course, and my pal regularly tortures me when I bring up how pathetic the Republican ticket is by saying things like, “Yeah, but she’s cute!” (He’s a wonderful guy for an MBA. And his family is beautiful.)

The point of all this? The punchline? Rich Lowry, editor of the very serious and very important conservative rag, National Review:

A very wise TV executive once told me that the key to TV is projecting through the screen. It’s one of the keys to the success of, say, a Bill O’Reilly, who comes through the screen and grabs you by the throat. Palin too projects through the screen like crazy. I’m sure I’m not the only male in America who, when Palin dropped her first wink, sat up a little straighter on the couch and said, “Hey, I think she just winked at me.” And her smile. By the end, when she clearly knew she was doing well, it was so sparkling it was almost mesmerizing. It sent little starbursts through the screen and ricocheting around the living rooms of America”

I mean, c’mon. He was just joking like my friend and me, right? Right? Please? Anyone?

Thanks to Attaturk. One handed typing, indeed.

Update: I don’t “hate her,” except as a VP candidate. In fact, I suspect I would find plenty of personal things to like about her. I could smell her libertarian instincts when she horrified the base with her, “Some of my best friends are lesbians!” line.

Update 2: Wolcott has a typically funny, smart take on the same phenomenon.

