Am I the only who has a twisted, perverse, self-destructive desire to see this happen? (Besides my man IOZ, for sure.)

Don’t get me wrong. I think it will destroy the country, unless ol’ Mr. Maverick takes a political dump on the people who elected him, which I do not consider a far-fetched possibility. From a personal honor perspective, it is safe to say it is the only way he could regain it. But that, too, splits the GOP into some pretty serious contentious factions.

I have a bad habit. A bad personal character trait. I like to see people in pain to agree that I was right. I want them to admit that I’m right under duress. I make it tough for people who disagree with me to agree with me, particularly when I have the facts behind me.

I get a big kick out of rubbing people’s faces in their own shit. It isn’t cool. I understand. But it is real, and it is something very satisfying to me. It’s way more gratifying to get someone to admit you were right when you’ve made it absolutely humiliating for them to admit it. I’m good at it.

I’ve taken more shrill stands against entrenched interests (micro, admittedly, when compared to national electoral politics) than McCain has in his entire life. I know what it is to fight The Man. I’ve been doing it since I was a little kid. My K-6 teachers loved it, since I was bright and polite and respectful, but the older I got, the more I was considered a threat to The Man. Coaches in particular, as I progressed through HS, had a very tough time with me. Coaches don’t like their authority questioned.

So, if McCain wins, I’ll figure out a way to enjoy it. I hope. My friends and family have been talking for some time about communal living, about circling the wagons, about dealing with catastrophe. I don’t know if any of them will have the will to actually do it, but I know I have a safety net, even if it doesn’t turn out in practical terms exactly as I’ve described.

As usual, I’m trying to figure out a way to have my cake and eat it, too, which most people do but few can admit.

I’m jacked about November 4. One way or another, I’ll be amazed.

