…though I am positive he did so inadvertently. Could he be a true genius because I think he’s one? Maybe, maybe not, but I was the one person in my sports family who told everyone 11 years ago that this kid Tiger Woods may be a golfer to watch. Actually, that’s a gross understatement: I told my family Woods would dominate, when he was all of 19 years old, to just a whole lot of ridicule.

And though I in no way embody David Foster Wallace’s metaphor for big, giant IQ, “heavy firepower,” when I read DFW’s work enough times I understood that the man was a true genius. If I may, I’m very good at recognizing and understanding genius, even if it doesn’t reside in me itself. Close, but no cigar.

The bottom line is that Heywood J. is absolutely correct: At some point in the picture, it is wholly irrational to stop beating your head against the wall.

As I said just a few minutes ago, count me out as a head-banger if McCain wins.

