You’ll find quite a bit of his work in my Personal Gospel link.

I’m guessing many of his fans would find “Good Old Neon,” an essay in a recent collection of his, interesting to read.

It’s about death, and suicide, and mind-time vs. chronological time, and like so much of everything DFW wrote, is one of the most remarkable works I’ve ever come across.

I’m going to miss him in a big literary way.

Genius is hard.

And DFW is a little bit responsible for my entry into the blogosphere. Many years ago, I ran across this blog called Eschaton, recognized the term immediately, and realized I too could be someone who at least had his say.

I would guess many would say that was a bad thing for all of us, but I don’t think so.

Update: If you’ve never read any Wallace, I would suggest you start out with “a supposedly fun thing I’ll never do again,” as a primer. You’ll either love him or hate him, and from there you can go.

I loved him.

I remember a review I once read. It started like this, and I can’t find the exact quote:

“I hope David Foster Wallace is a miserable human being, because he sure writes like nobody I’ve read.”

Ah, shit, that doesn’t do it justice.

I just remember the quote now that he hung himself. He was miserable. *wry grin*

Update 2: Ha! Found it! And I was right, I didn’t do it justice, not even close. Joel Stein:

David Foster Wallace writes so beautifully, is so show-offishly smart and understands the intricacies of human emotion so keenly that a reasonable person can only hope he is terribly unhappy. Which, if this collection of short stories is any indication, he is.”

Update 3: A concise, typically unusual, at once horrifying and wonderfully relatable, strangely publicly available example of Wallace’s work, just for the record, and for posterity.

Update 4: One of Wallace’s best works, in my humble opinion, is E Unibus Pluram. You’ll never understand the influence of television as well as you could until you read it. It took me about 4 passes to get it. But it is the greatest piece of writing on the influence of TV on American culture, ever, and you can find it in the link to “a supposedly fun…” above.

It’s too bad so few understand what is lost.

Update: Joel Stein elaborates. Wallace was one of a kind. Most readers won’t like him, or understand him, or think he’s too full of himself, but his writing made me a better, smarter, more informed, deeper person.

