I have no expectations for Obama’s speech tonight, since it has been spun beyond any sane interpretation, and he’ll give a good speech anyway no matter how Media Man spins it, but the bottom line for me is this: Somehow, some way, Obama has removed a big chunk (not all of it!) of my cynicism about American politics and replaced it with, yes, *gag*, “hope.”

For that alone, he deserves a lot of credit. I’m probably best described as “libertarian-lite,” politically speaking, and I am by nature socially near anarchy but fiscally near McCainian.

The problem is that McCain wants to balance the budget on the backs of us normal working Joe’s. No talk of ending the drug war ($40,000,000,000), no talk of reducing the military budget to say, only 3X the combined spending of all our enemies (~$100,000,000,000), no talk of raising the SS tax from the most regressive one we have to a straight line into income-infinity.

McCain is a temperamental retard. I hope Obama has some “Daisy” ads in the can, just in case.

But, darn it, I’m awfully happy with how things have gone so far. I’m sure something will come along to kill my hope, but until then I’m going to enjoy it as best I can.

I’ve met Obama in a lengthy, intimate setting. He’s a good man.

To paraphrase Michelle Obama, I love my country, but only in the last few days have I become really proud of it again, like I was before 2000.

