I don’t care much for choreography, in general, but the Olympic opening ceremonies had me glued. (Couldn’t find it, but you can, if there’s a FSM. Look around on nbc.com)

Mom loves that stuff. So I called and asked if she had watched, and she had.

It was friggin’ dazzling. My suggestion, should Chicago (my home town) get the Games in ’16 was to give it up and set up a miniature golf course in the middle of the stadium with some Chicago landmarks as props and maybe some sort of “world” thing encompassing the whole deal. “Can you top this?” is not a game you want to play with your opening ceremonies after this Chinese masterpiece of art and theater.

The 400 freestyle IM was one of the best sports events I’ve ever seen. Posting a world record on the final leg of a race against a team that is trash-talking you is magnificent sports stuff. Again, to Mom: “Unless you’re Tiger Woods or Michael Jordan, you just shouldn’t be talkin’ smack to your opponents.”

The U.S. men’s basketball team will not lose. Mostly because of Jerry Colangelo and Coach K., who will insist on *gasp* defense and teamwork.

The track and field events should be the best ever. I can’t wait for the 100, 200, 400, and mile, even if we only have a chance in 3 of them. Three world record holders (at one time) in the 100. Personally, I like the 200 for “fastest dude on the planet,” since it isn’t so start-dependent.

Too bad Russia is ruining the whole thing, with an assist from Georgia, not the state in the U.S.

