Is is just me, a member of the club, or is it true that there is a disproportionate number of chronic depressives who write in the political blogosphere?

I won’t name anyone, since their own words on the subject of depression speak for themselves. It just strikes me that the constituency of chronic depressives is VERY well represented by some of the best writers in the blogosphere. (And that “best writers” part is an aspect of the club to which I do not belong, for the record.)

Blogging is a perfect medium for depressives. It allows us to interact without actually socializing–we often don’t feel like being around anyone, but contrary to popular opinion about depression, we’re not irrational, and know this isn’t good, so we apply the band-aid of fake socializing–blogging requires some time and solitary effort, and a certain degree of detachment and fearlessness (hopelessness?) to be done fairly. I’m not saying we’re not partisan, I’m saying to make your case takes some time and effort that suits the loner well.

We do well alone, relatively speaking, because we’re used to it, and more often than not comfortable with it.

Or is it just a personal bias coming through? An aspect of humanity to which I can relate? Or could it be, as I like to believe, the idea that anyone rational who loves their country and pays attention to the details (to the degree that is possible) can’t help but be a little bit depressed? Who knows. Probably both.

It struck me last night, when I was watching The Daily Show and Stewart did his Baracknophobia bit, which was very funny and very good as usual, that my laughter wasn’t coming from the place in our brains that finds things purely funny. It was coming out of the part of the brain that finds absurdity, and things surreal, and frustrating, for which there is no rational reaction but to laugh, funny in the interest of one’s mental health. I couldn’t avoid thinking we’re doomed, watching Stewart skewer the folks from whom so many get their “information.”

It was an odd personal moment. It happens all the time at work, too, constant Dilbert moments, and when I’m good I laugh in the same way I laughed at Stewart’s bit, and when I’m not good I freak out and rant and rave, which makes me not such a popular figure in Corporate America.

