…not to pass along.

Scarecrow with a beautiful post about what I like to call, “circling the drain.”

It’s very, very moving, and in my view, depressingly accurate.

Watergate was the first political event I ever paid attention to, and it wasn’t until later in life I learned that the Republicans had actually delivered the final blow to Nixon. Way back when country mattered more than political affiliation.

That obviously no longer applies. “Winning the game” is now all there is. Thanks Corporate Media, thanks unbeatable incumbents, and thanks, most of all, to Karl Rove and his Atwaterian predecessors; Carville and Matalin, and all those involved who have it made, therefore need not care about the rest of us. They all only care about the game, and why shouldn’t they? It’s what they do, and who they are.

There are a lot more atheists in this country than is let on. Count most of the professional political class for a lot of them.

Update: We’re living inside a fucking sporting event, and the refs are bought. There’s a part of me that wants to see McCain win, because I think it will destroy the GOP for what’s left of my life. Sadly, I don’t think we have that luxury in post-Bush America.

I pride myself on my vicious and cold-hearted objectivity, but I have to admit I’m a worthless broker in this regard when it comes to November 4. I can’t for the life of me figure out how anyone could vote GOP this fall. Trust me, that’s a long way for me to fall.

Living in IL, though, I may have the risk-free opportunity to vote for Barr in the general, just because I think this country needs to move in a more libertarian direction. (NOT all the way!) Beware The Man.

